Cornell CIS

BOOM 2019 Award Recipients

Sponsors' Awards

Each sponsor will give one award based on broad criteria including novelty, execution, quality of engineering, performance, difficulty, social benefits, presentation, and usefulness. Each sponsor award will include a commemorative trophy and a $750 prize.

This year's sponsor award recipients are:

Goldman Sachs: Let's Hear It: Female Empowerment Platform

Maya Frai

Schlumberger: Blockchain Enabled Agro-Economic Credit Scoring

Shiang-Wan Chin, Kriezi Foteini, Yizhuo Yu, Shukla Mukul, Rylander Haley, and Xueyuan Wang

Vista Equity Partners: Paloma Analytics

Jack Pertschuk, Cole Theines

The Walt Disney Company: Ezra Box

Yi Hsin Wei, Sophia Deng, Andrei Kozyrev, Rishabh Sarup, Ally Yuan

Air Liquide: Avicaching

Anmol Kabra

Amazon: Apomden

Samuel Opoku-Agyemang, Sena Katako, Dennis Delasi Nyanyo

EY: Let's Hear It: Female Empowerment Platform

Maya Frai

Sandia National Laboratories: Fake News Detection

Linnea May, Kathy Byun, Danny Yang, Eric Sun, William Bekerman

Workday: UniVRsity

Nicolas Barone, Chad Fong, Rigolosio Domenic, Mutolo Jeremie

Faculty Choice Awards

The two Faculty Choice Awards are judged by Computing and Information Science and College of Engineering faculty and focuses on the computing aspect of a project. Criteria may include novelty, elegance, simplicity, and appropriateness of algorithms and overall software engineering. The selected projects will receive $750


Samuel Opoku-Agyemang, Sena Katako, Dennis Delasi Nyanyo


Jeffrey Yao, Michael Xing, Wenjia Zhang, Demi Chang, Samuel Sorenson

Statistics Award

The Statistics Award is given to the most intriguing statistics project as judged by a panel of statistics faculty members. The selected project will receive $750.


Anmol Kabra

Legacy Teams Award

The Legacy Teams Award is a category dsigned to recognize projects that have a sustained presence at Cornell.  It is judged by select faculty and BOOM staff. The selected team will receive $750.

CUAir (Cornell University Unmanned Air Systems)

Anna Fang, Sitar Harel, Chaska Yamane, Ben Sternklar-Davis, Jamie Gray